Author Topic: Norton alert and a possible cause of the Google & Facebook bans  (Read 601 times)

Offline Alex B

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Norton alert and a possible cause of the Google & Facebook bans
« on: September 09, 2011, 04:00:49 PM »
First I would like to thank you for the excellent free hosting service. I have been a happy user.

One of my visitors reported a problem with his Norton Internet security program which didn't allow him to access my site.

Here is what the Norton online check at https://safeweb.norton.com/ says about t35.me:


Click to enlarge.


The http://-zynga-.t35.me/ address is listed as a phishing website. The site's index page pretends to be the Facebook login page:


Click to enlarge.


Norton doesn't warn about T35.com, but since the sites are now redirected to t35.me that is correct. I don't know if the status of T35.com at the Norton service has changed recently.

Helping Webmasters - Webmaster Forum, Website Support and T35 Hosting Support

Norton alert and a possible cause of the Google & Facebook bans
« on: September 09, 2011, 04:00:49 PM »

Offline wetwetwet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Norton alert and a possible cause of the Google & Facebook bans
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 09:03:48 PM »

Are you saying Norton blocks all t35.me sites because one of them has been reported as phishing?
If it does, that seems a little over the top to me, and this is why I normally don't run these stupid forgery blockers, but other people do so something needs done about this. Since it's just this one phishing site showing up on norton's site, killing the site should restore things to normal hopefully.

Firefox's forgery blocker blocks -zynga-.t35.me but does not block other t35.me sites.

However, Firefox is blocking this:



That was a request for:
http://www.t35hosting.com/free-web-hosting/signup/index.html

Other pages on the main t35hosting site seem to be fine. It's just the free-hosting signup page which fails. But since this page clearly isn't a forgery, it just shows how stupid the admins are that maintain these forgery blocker lists!

That -zynga- account must be an old one because you can't put a minus sign in a username now (presumably it was disallowed because it makes these harder to find on google when it starts with a minus sign).