We don't currently have any winfixer pop-up in rotation.. are you sure you don't have spyware on your computer?
The thing is, My t35 page was the only one that was open at the time. It's also the only site I get it from.
I have NO spyware whatsoever. I have several antispywareprograms (adaware, MS antispyware, spywareblaster, spybot S&D all with the latest definitions) which I scan with at least every other day and I do a regular check with the online checker from Etrust pestpatrol. None of them find anything remotely close to winfixer or spyware except the common tracking cookies. Checked with HiJackThis and didn't find anything. Furthermore, I have read dozens of websites and did every single test they offered. Never found anything.
As a browser I use FF, I'm using a fully patched SP2, firewall, antivirus...
Heck, i'm writing this reply just after I got the popup again.
I never have had the winfixer infestation. And i know at least 2 sites that have had the very same problem. They too didn't know where it came from. (check 2nd reply)
Can anyone provide the url to this ad? Thanks..
It pops as a javascript popup, and underneath there is a regular browser-window. I can't get the exact url from that since it's to small. If i try to cancel or X the window, it still pops open, in this site h**p://www.winfixer.com/pages/scanner/index.php?aid=dblu_e_ed2&lid=wf3&ex=1&p=&ax=1
However.
I did some searching on the sites which i talked about earlier, and i found this on one of the boards
http://www.ogame224.de/forum/thread.php?threadid=44306&threadview=0&hilight=winfixer&hilightuser=0&page=1In the last post, a user give out the (possible) malicious urls.